Christ’s Love Compels Us

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes.”  Romans 1:16
I saw her in the bathroom of a gas station. She looked like she was in her late teens or early twenties. Cropped blond hair, shorts and a t shirt, she didn’t particularly stand out from the crowd. What made me look twice was the scars and new cuts on her thigh.
 
I wanted to say something, show her compassion, to let her know she’s not alone. Instead, I stood there. What would I even say to her? She would think I am judging her. So I walked out of the bathroom leaving her hurting heart behind.
 
Holding a cardboard sign, the young woman stood on the street corner. I felt prompted to say something to her; I don’t know why, but I felt like I should. I didn’t have much money to give her, but I knew that isn’t what she needed anyway. She needed hope. Instead, I drove on. I glanced in my rear view mirror, conviction tugging at my heart.
 
Have you ever experienced these same feelings? Burning with desire to share the love of God, but feelings of insecurity and fear leave you crippled. Why are we ashamed of the gospel of Christ? If we believe what we say we do, we would be anxious to spread the Good News, not afraid.

 
Fear of man is a real snare to sharing the Gospel, which I’m sure we have all found ourselves caught in. May God forgive us for the times we held back, afraid. Allow the love of God to constrain you, negating every fear to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
 
This is the prayer on my heart this morning. That I would be bold for Him. And for the souls of others.
 
 
 
 
 
5 thoughts on “Christ’s Love Compels Us

  1. Miller Family says:

    Amen! Madison, this is so true! Thank you for sharing. It is so excited watching you boldness and love for Christ growing… so glad we are on the same training field! Love ya bunches! Kristi

    Like

  2. Val says:

    Wow,Madison,I so can identify with this!The fear is so real,but God’s love is even more so,we have this hope to share!

    Like

  3. Rachel says:

    Thanks a bunch for sharing, Madison! This is me, lotsa times. I sometimes think if I would just ‘get it’ more– the worth of a soul, the privilege of sharing hope thru Christ, the all-importance of giving the lost an opportunity, the ridiculousness of fearing any opinion besides God’s– I’d stay silent far less often. We can pray courage and vision for each other!:)

    Was great seeing you a bit at Ellen’s wedding!

    Like

Leave a Reply

