No Place Like Home

There is no place like home. I like to go new places, see new people, and hang out with friends. But by the end of a week or two, I am so (so) ready for home. There is a few reasons for this… When I am away from home, I miss my hazelnut coffee creamer, not having to live out of  a suitcase, and my favorite pillow named George. And my family.

I am keenly aware of how much I miss my family when I don’t have them. When I am traveling alone, no shoulders to lean on, no one to talk to, and no one to remind this absent minded girl that she left her phone at the checkout desk.

No matter how much I love traveling, there is no place like home, where it is familiar, comfortable, and where the people that I love the most live.

How does this compare to how I feel about Heaven, which is my true home? It is so easy to get caught up here on earth with things (even things that are good and right) and Heaven begins to feel distant, and far away. We get comfortable with life, and we forget we are only strangers and pilgrims.

Our Father will be there. How amazing will it be, to sit by His side and worship Him? the One we love so dearly. And family and loved ones that have passed on before…

Do we truly long for Heaven? Let’s remember to stay kingdom-minded, not getting tangled in the affairs of this world. The struggles we face here only remind us that we are  only passing through. In Heaven, all will be perfect; no more pain, no more sorrow.

I love life; it is a miracle, so exciting and wonderful. But I get weary sometimes, and I can’t wait to be Home.

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ…”  Phil. 3:20

 

Leave a Reply

