No Feelings, No Problem

I am really not feeling motivated. I don’t feel capable in ministry, I don’t feel inspired, I don’t feel excited. I don’t feel like spending my days with preteens from broken families, or countless hours washing dishes for other people. I don’t feel like it.

What I feel like doing is being incredibly selfish, doing things I enjoy, and spending time, money, and resources on my self. Doing things that make me feel good, things that make me excited, and happy. and (confession time) doing things that other people would notice.

guess what, feelings? You don’t belong here.

Maybe there is a reason why God said we must lose our life, pick up our cross, die daily. These things don’t sound comfortable. To be great, we must be the least.In serving, we become leaders. No cozy feelings there.

No, the Christian life isn’t based on warm, happy feelings. True, we do experience many things that bring joy to our life (watching a young person get born again, for example) but our decisions cannot be based on what simply feels good.

Preaching to myself, here. Where God guides, He provides. I have no strength? God is strong through my weakness. I am inept? He is able.  Insecurities plague me? I find great security in His love.

I may not feel like it. I may not want to. But He gently leads me into His will, providing what I need every step of the way.

And guess what.

It’s no problem.

In my weakness, He is strong.

 

 

2 thoughts on “No Feelings, No Problem

  1. Krista Zimmerman says:

    Thank you! This was just what I needed, a reminder to not listen to my many, wishy-washy, female feelings! But to move forward, following Him. He will give strength!

    Like

  2. Nayana Nair says:

    Loved the post 🙂 Especially lines “our decisions cannot be based on what simply feels good.” and “In my weakness, He is strong.”
    When I am feeling like this, I just remember one quote from F.R.I.E.N.D.S, “These are just feelings. They’ll go away”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

