Identity in Christ

I stared at the person in the mirror, almost blankly, then looked back at the sheet in my hand. On one side, I had scribbled a few words that I felt described part of me, then a black line separated the other half, where a few more adjectives had been written. The set of words were completely opposite from each other, and I couldn’t figure out which suited me better. Sometimes I thought I was the one person, and other times I felt completely different. Maybe it was the person I wanted to be, and the person that I actually which made the difference. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, but I knew I was searching for my identity. And I couldn’t find it.

identity

Teenagers all throughout the world search for things, try to belong, fit in, and be someone. Having an identity seems so important to us; we think it is the epitome of being- especially since without an identity, who would we be?

It took me years until I realized a truth that will change your life if you are searching for identity. If you are a born again Christian, your identity is in Christ. You do not have to try to be someone, worry about your reputation, or make a name for yourself.

When we are in Christ, and that is where our personally identity lies (in being his child), we know that we are

      1. Loved (John 3:16)
      2. Accepted (John 6:37)
      3. Taken care of (Matthew 6:25-33)
      4. Free (Romans 6:7)
      5. Adopted into His family (Ephesians 1:5)
      6. Given strength (Isaiah 40:29)
      7. Been made alive (Ephesians 2:5)
      8. Made righteous (Ephesians 4:24)
      9. Holy (Hebrews 10:10)
      10. Called and set apart (2 Timothy 1:9)

How is that for a list of credentials? So remember, next time you start trying to find your identity, look to Christ, where the perfect identity can be found.

Leave a Reply

