The Valley

He leadeth me in paths of righteousness, for his name’s sake… and then I find myself troubled by calamity, walking in the shadow of death.

How wide is this path in this valley? No friends or comforts can be brought here. In this valley, we are stripped of every earthly thing we ever relied on for comfort. We are in this alone. Well, only to the human eye, we appear alone. God matches our every step.

There is no light that we can see at the end of this dark tunnel. We don’t know the length, and it is different for every person. For some, the valley may only last a week, others, months, Years. But God’s arm is not shortened. All the way He carries us through.

Our first instinct is to fear. How long, how dark, how lonely this path. Humanly speaking, we don’t understand it. How could this bring us closer to God? This pain I’m facing? Through human eyes, its devastating.

“…I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.” vs. 4

Through the eyes of faith though, is where we have to look. Even when you don’t feel it, look there. Through faith, we see that struggle makes us stronger, that His company (and only His) brings us closer to Him. We find that as He guides us on such a narrow path with His rod and staff, they begin to bring us comfort, as we realize He is still with us, and loves us.

And through human eyes we don’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, but when we open the eyes of faith, we see that Light is actually with us. It is all around us. And so we march on, dispelling the darkness, clinging to our Father who hushes every evil voice that threatens us.

And we make it through by the grace of God. And on the other side is a banquet, a wonderful spread and we enjoy the sweet fellowship while our enemies look on, disappointed that they failed to bring us down.

Everyone has a valley. What is yours?

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restores my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yea, though walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of my enemies: thou annointest my head with oil, my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23

One thought on “The Valley

Leave a Reply

