Fear

My name is Fear” he whispered in the broad daylight.

“But I thought you only exposed yourself at night?” I replied in shock to the demon next to me.

“Not this time.” He responded. “No, I am here today, and will be back tomorrow. Actually, make that later today. I’ll be here most of the time. And don’t worry, you will become quite acquainted with me.”

Trying to shake off the nagging feeling, I continued to drive down the street. What had come over me? Something subconscious, yet so real. I felt uneasy… and instead of calling upon the power of God, I let my thoughts spiral into the dark well Fear had dug. The forces of Satan got their foot in the door of my life, and they were determined to get in even further.

I hurried home, not wanting to be alone anymore.

That night, Fear showed itself again. As I lay in bed, I began to hear whispers. Indiscernible, but clear whispering nonetheless. . I heard something swish around the room.

All the demons of hell must be in here. I thought.

My chest tightened, and my heart sped. Panic flooded my entire body as I lay paralyzed. I realized Fear’s plan. To take over my entire life. And I could almost hear the devils unquenchable laughter as Fear did just that.

***
Fear and I got acquainted well. He was my closest companion for many years. Day in and day out, it took over every area of my life. Daily living, social life, spiritual life… it was all in shambles. I could almost never be alone, insecurities hounded me, and irrational fears took over my mind.

At least until….

***

I sat up in bed, cold sweat dripping off my face. Fear had made his appearance, yet another time. Another night, taken over by fear.

Oh Lord, I prayed in a whisper. Please rescue me from this fear. It is ruining my life. I cannot even function normally anymore. Please, God.

I can only imagine that at the moment of calling on the name of God, there was a mighty clashing of spiritual realms.

Not that I hadn’t called on God before, but in this moment of desperation, I pleaded for Him, and this time believing that my God was stronger than this evil.

My God is stronger.

That means I don’t have to be afraid anymore. Nothing is bigger, more powerful, more mighty than Jesus’ precious blood. He conquered all evil and destroyed death.

***

Since that time of my life, I have been able to face many of my fears, and by the grace of God, walk through many situations I would not have dreamed of. Fear is still a weakness for me though. And the minute I think I am free, I realize I must depend upon the Lord for strength, He is where I get my courage.

Something I finally realized is that nothing can happen to me that God does not know about! He won’t let anything happen to me that He can’t give me strength to face or that is out of His control. He watches over His children.

What fears do you face? Maybe you don’t fear the spirit world as I did, but what about the unknown, the future, your insecurities, loneliness?

I want to share some verses with you that has give me strength and I found encouraging.

“However, do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.” Luke 10:20 NIV

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:27 ESV

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for you, LORD, only make me dwell in safety.” Psalm 4:8 KJV

Leave a Reply

