Created to be Comfy?

I don’t know about you, but I am not the adrenaline-junkie, adventure seeking, thrill loving type of girl. Sure, I love to have fun and some adventure (as long as it is not life threatening, involving spending the night away from my soft bed, or too much physical exertion). But really, I like my warm tea, good  book and cozy covers.

Sometimes, as I sit in my house with my wonderful family (and my warm tea) I start wondering,  what does God really want from me? What should I be doing for Him?

But what is even scary to me than sleeping under the stars in the untamed wilderness, is talking to a stranger – someone I don’t know-  about the Lord. I love Jesus with all my heart, but sometimes, my fear is bigger than my faith.

Do you know what can even be scarier than that? Talking to a friend about your faith.  what if she doesn’t agree? what if she thinks I’m a radical, or crazy? will she get upset with me if I disagree with her on something? Is it worth breaking our friendship over?  

What is your source of comfort? What is tethering you to its side, so that you cannot step out in faith and reach the lost – be it your friends, strangers, or someone on the other side of the continent?

Fear, comfort, money, friends, family…what is it for you?

God didn’t create us to sit around and serve ourselves… and while taking  a leap of faith can be really scary, He always gives us the strength to do it. The fulfillment we will find in serving others is nothing compared to what we get our of serving our selves. God deserves the glory from our lives, and are we going to let our selfishness take that from Him?

This is a real issue for me; I am not necessarily a people person, but I have found the most fulfilling times of my life when I laid my preferences down and served others.

 

You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.

Gal. 5:13

 

Leave a Reply

